MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Inspired-Design

以设计架起社群与文化之桥

华人策划协会,纽约

地处曼哈顿下东区的中心地带,华人策划协会(以下简称“华策会”)的新总部是社群分享与互助的范例。过去四年,我们成功在设计中融入了文化、包容性和创新等元素。

以华策会“融合、包容、赋权”的核心原则为启发,这一焕新空间不仅能够服务其所代表的多元社群,且能充分彰显其特色。

项目一览

  1. 重新打造非营利空间的外观与氛围。
  2. 凸显以文化和社群为中心的组织特色,灵活应对持续变化的需求和多样化群体。
  3. 打造具有高度适应性且宾至如归的服务空间,以增强归属感、参与感和可及性。
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Social-Connection
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Brand-Experience-Design

以社群为中心的设计

华策会通过确保华裔美国人、移民和低收入群体能公平获得所需资源和机会,致力于促进其社会权利和经济赋权。

华策会在卫生、教育、家庭和社群及职业发展领域提供众多服务。因此,当我们的团队受邀为其重新设计总部时,我们的目标很明确,即打造一个可以帮助促进社群参与和援助的服务空间,并重新对非营利空间应具备的外观和氛围进行评估。

设计理念源自华策会的使命,这个焕然一新的空间环境既经典又温馨,能够与不同行业的人群产生共鸣。它设有热情的接待区和具备高度适应性的活动空间,能随社区需求而灵活变化。空间的每一处细节都精心设计,目的是增强访客的归属感、安全感和目标感。

该组织还计划与当地社群合作,与艺术家Yukiko Izumi一起创作一幅美丽的壁画。此外,Ji Yong Kim 将提供额外的艺术装置。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Design
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Breakout-Space-Design
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Reception-Lobby-Design-Office

以包容性为导向的设计叙事

我们将办公场所的功能与通用设计原则相融合,确保每个人都能方便使用。这些设计干预措施形成了一条引领组织成员和社区访客到达目的地的建筑旅程。设计元素考虑到了背景和不同人群,营造了一个让所有人都感受到包容和重视的空间。

考虑到华策会的服务覆盖人群广泛,我们设计了多语言和盲文指引标识。通过遵循文化影响与现代设计原则,我们打造了一个能凸显其所服务的多元社群特色的功能空间。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Kitchen 用餐区的设计旨在鼓励社交互动,同时保持舒适与平和的环境。

拥抱灵活性

对非营利组织而言,空间的灵活性是其成功的关键,特别是在面对项目需求多变、涉及各种活动和事件的情况下,适应性显得尤为重要。因此,我们特别强调空间的灵活设计,营造了可以根据社群需求进行调整和变化的多功能房间和活动空间。这样的设计确保了空间能随着时间的推移而进化,满足组织的持续变化需求。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Social-Space

这些空间设计得既灵活又可扩展,能够适应不同社区群体的变化需求。活动区域宽敞,可适用于举办各类活动,如特殊庆典、节日和社区集会等。通过引入可移动墙壁,用户可根据不同活动的具体需求灵活调整空间布局。此外,这些多功能空间与社交中心及户外花园相连,确保了室内外环境的无缝过渡,增强了空间的开放性和互动性。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Outdoor-Access
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Design-Meeting-Space
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Staircase-Design

华策会成员还可以布置出更小的房间,以开展氛围更加温馨的活动,如培训课、讲座或专业课等。这种多功能性能够满足总部的各种需求,同时最大限度地发挥每个区域的功能。

具备持久影响力的创新解决方案

新设计的中央楼梯连接了一楼大厅与上层两层,不仅仅是一种通行设施,更是交流与互动的中心。楼梯沿途设有休息区、交流区和工作区,为员工在日常工作中提供了自由选择空间的自主权,营造出一个多功能且动态的工作环境。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Design-Alternative-Work-Points
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Central-Staircase-Design
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Workplace-Design

华策会的使命和其服务社区的多样性需求塑造了我们的设计理念。为了营造这一理念,我们精心选择了颜色、隔音措施、绿植、几何形状以及可移动家具等设计细节。颜色不仅富有深厚的文化和情感内涵,也是展现华策会独特身份和悠久历史的关键元素。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Donor-Wall-Design 颜色在设计中占据核心地位,不仅蕴含深厚的文化和情感意义,也是展示华策会独特身份和悠久历史的关键元素。

塑造社群参与的未来

通过周密的策略规划和精细的室内设计,我们帮助华策会总部成为一个团结且多元的社群支柱。我们所设计的空间不仅彰显了包容与支持的价值观,还旨在赋能华策会,支持其继续开展服务并改善社区生活。此外,本项目设立了一个新的以社群为中心的设计标准,反映人类多样化的生活经历。

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Design-Inspiration
项目状态

完工

完工日期

2023

项目地点

纽约

项目面积

3,902 sq m / 42,000 sq ft

摄影师

Aaron Thompson

和我们聊聊您的办公空间?

联络我们

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Inspired-Design

Bridging communities and cultures through design

Chinese-American Planning Council, New York

In the heart of Manhattan’s Lower East Side, the Chinese-American Planning Council’s (CPC) new headquarters is a shining example of community support and empowerment. Over the past four years, our team has been weaving culture, inclusivity and innovation into the design of this community centre.

Inspired by CPC’s core principles of integration, inclusion and empowerment, the project has blossomed into a space to serve and embrace the diverse communities it represents.

At a glance

  1. Helping to re-evaluate, uplift and support what a non-profit space is supposed to look and feel like.
  2. Integrating culture and community-centric features that evolve with changing needs and diverse demographic groups.
  3. Enhancing a sense of belonging, engagement and accessibility through spatial flexibility and a welcoming, approachable design.
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Social-Connection
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Brand-Experience-Design

Community-invested design

The Chinese-American Planning Council’s mission is to promote the social and economic empowerment of Chinese American, immigrant, and low-income communities. This is achieved by ensuring equitable access to the resources and opportunities needed to thrive.

CPC offers an array of vital programs and services, from health and social services to employment assistance and educational programs. So, when our team was tasked with redesigning its headquarters, our goals were clear – create a space where holistic design acts as a catalyst for community engagement and support and re-evaluate what a non-profit space is supposed to look and feel like.

The project’s design philosophy mirrors CPC’s mission. It creates a welcoming and timeless environment that resonates with individuals from all walks of life. From the warm and inviting reception to the flexible event spaces that adapt to the community’s evolving needs, every aspect of the design is intentional. It supports a sense of belonging, security and purpose.

The organisation also plans to involve the local community in making a beautiful mural alongside the artist Yukiko Izumi. Ji Yong Kim will provide additional art installations.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Design
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Breakout-Space-Design

Inclusivity drives the design narrative

Our design integrates workplace functionality with universal design principles, ensuring accessibility for all. These design interventions make up an architectural journey that guides team members and community visitors to their destinations. Design elements support a wide range of backgrounds and abilities, creating a space where everyone feels included and valued.

CPC serves a wide range of demographics, so our design incorporates multilingual and brail wayfinding signage. By blending cultural influences with modern design principles, the project creates a functional space reflecting the multidimensional community it serves.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Kitchen All the dining areas throughout the space were designed to encourage a sense of social vibrancy without being overstimulating.

Embracing flexibility

Flexibility is paramount for the success of non-profit organisations, particularly regarding their physical spaces. Additionally, adaptability is essential given the dynamic nature of their programming, which often involves a variety of events and activities. To support the diversity of CPC’s programming, we prioritised flexibility, designing adaptable rooms and gathering spaces that evolve alongside community needs.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Social-Space

The space can grow and adjust alongside the changing needs of different demographic groups as they come and go. Event spaces accommodate various activities, from special events and celebrations to community experiences. Furthermore, these spaces feature divisible walls, allowing members to customise the layout to suit different settings. Connecting these spaces to the main social hub and the outdoor garden provides a seamless flow between indoor and outdoor areas.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Outdoor-Access
MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Staircase-Design

Members can also create smaller rooms for more intimate gatherings such as training sessions, lectures or speciality classes. This versatility ensures that the centre can adapt to a variety of needs while maximising each area’s utility.

Innovative solutions for lasting impact

The newly designed central staircase connects the ground floor lobby to the two levels above. A means of circulation and interaction for everyone, it provides areas for respite, casual connection and alternative workstations. This gives employees autonomy in their work environment.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Design-Alternative-Work-Points

CPC’s mission and the diverse needs of its community guided our design intent. From the use of symbolic colours and acoustic treatments to the integration of greenery, organic shapes and flexible furnishings, every design choice was deliberate.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Community-Donor-Wall-Design Colours played an essential role in the design development, carefully selected for their deep cultural significance and emotional impact. They also serve as a means to convey the unique identity and history of CPC.

Shaping the future of community engagement

We helped CPC’s headquarters become a unified and diverse pillar within its community. This was achieved through strategic brand experience, thoughtful interior design and targeted architectural interventions. By providing a space that embodies values of inclusivity and support, we aim to empower the organisation through design. This will enable it to continue its vital work of serving and uplifting communities for years to come. At the same time, we hope this project sets a new standard for community-centric design – one that celebrates the richness and diversity of the human experience.

MMoser-CPC-New-York-Interior-Design-Inspiration
Status

Completed

Completion date

2023

Location

New York City

Area

3,902 sq m / 42,000 sq ft

Photographer

Aaron Thompson

Discuss your workplace

Contact