Outdoor space designed for PayPal by M Moser featuring an experiential garden, rest and work environment.

放眼窗外,探索未来办公空间

PayPal贝宝户外空间,加利福尼亚州圣何塞

办公场所的定义已发生改变。随着工作习惯的演变,高效办公的条件不再仅限于特定地点或封闭空间内。为推动未来办公场所发展,PayPal贝宝与我们开展合作——共同展望、重塑并设计出一片功能强大的体验式户外空间,为员工及访客打造可供高效办公、激发灵感、加强社群连接的环境。

我们采用了几种设计方案,将此户外空间打造成为企业办公场所的延续,同时呈现品牌形象与品牌使命。穆氏在建筑设计以及办公空间策略规划领域的专家们在其中融入了PayPal贝宝的四大价值观,即协作、创新、包容与关爱员工。换言之,我们需设计出独一无二且具备可塑性的方案,从而促进办公流程的推进、鼓励个性化表现,并对自然环境带来积极影响。

项目一览

  1. 采取前卫的思维与策略导向型方式,将现有的户外空间重塑为具有影响力的办公场所。
  2. 该室外环境旨在促进团队协作、激发创造力、为员工提供休憩放松的场所,同时满足社交需求。这里还设有不同程度的私人空间,满足专注办公的独处需求。
  3. 空间与布置设计各式各样,考量并包容独特的个性化偏好、各类体能条件、认知差异以及员工身心健康。
  4. 重新激活户外布局,吸引现有与潜在的人才回归办公场所。
  5. 益于健康的景观环境,保证员工能够全年呼吸新鲜空气、参与户外活动、感受水元素、聆听自然的声音并沐浴在自然光照之下。

整合视野下的PayPal贝宝园区

穆氏团队采取阶段性方式对该企业的户外空间进行改造,使其融合于整个办公环境。我们通过设计迅速实现空间对员工体验的影响。为了回应更为灵活的布局需求,我们以不同规模的空间解决这一问题,从而契合员工对办公场所的适应需求,并提供了大型活动的举办空间。团队对 PayPal贝宝已有的布局、结构及用户旅程开展分析,从而开启改造方案为户外区域重新注入活力,塑造出一个全年运营的户外空间。

 

PayPal 贝宝的户外办公园区在品牌旅程中,融入企业文化与特色,并配备有多个办公设施与休闲区。>

我们将一个大型环形座位区域改造为多功能协作空间与休息区。该区域位于园区中央,周边围绕着各类设施、亲水景观及赏心悦目的花园设施。此外还设置了活动窗口与折叠门,从而打造出室内与室外相连接的体验。

为了对一系列草坪开展改造,我们引入了多个独立会议设施。这些设施均配备有防晒装置与电路设备,营造出启发性的定制化办公环境,契合独特的个性化与任务需求。

该办公楼外立面经由重新设计,配备了可灵活开关的正门,建立了室内外空间的联结。
我们将阳光与阴影元素考虑在内,比如以精美的木质结构增强户外办公体验。

这片崭新而宽阔的户外空间通过材料的运用达成了与当地文化间的平衡,同时打造了以人为中心的、一以贯之的品牌体验。通过与一位园林师的合作,我们的设计愿景有了进一步延展。合作过程中,我们开展了各项前沿的研究,包括阳光与阴影的方向、用户旅程与环境保护,旨在通过细节化的设计方案解决功能、审美与舒适度的问题。

 

让办公与益于身心健康的自然户外空间相融合

为打造独一无二的景观,带来引人入胜的全方位旅程,如今,办公体验的定义已延伸至企业园区的周边区域。该空间的设计蕴含了有关身心健康、可持续性及自然元素的相关理念。此外,我们还采用了可回收的当地材料与其它生态友好型材料,如阿拉斯加柏木,将可持续性作为优先考虑的选项。

位于水景旁的独特办公区。
户外办公空间设计涵盖多个座位区、遮光办公区与亲水景观。
该户外空间支持个人及协同办公。

整体设计将附近沿海湿地的轮廓相连接,体现了连贯性的设计语言,将一系列户外空间融为一体。此外,我们还建立了不同层级的自然结构,并确保这些区域免受人干扰,从而维持该结构中树木、植物与花卉的健康生长。

该片经过改造的户外空间,让员工在工作期间亦有机会与户外接触。
由穆氏打造的户外办公空间。

从定制化多功能办公场所到休闲娱乐区,从休息厅到户外咖啡区,每个区域都可满足户外独立办公及团队协作的需求,并同时兼具娱乐与社交功能。

独出心裁的布置将户外园区成功转化为具备观赏价值的景点——而不再只是人们进入室内办公区的一段必经之路。它能够鼓励人们拥抱自然。

 

重塑户外绿色空间,为工作注入活力

如今,户外空间变得空前珍贵。随着员工陆续回归线下办公,企业也迎来了独特的机遇,不仅要营造让员工在回归时获得安全感的办公环境,也要抓住时机,发展与企业核心价值相契合的新型办公空间,不断为工作体验改写新的定义。

我们为 PayPal贝宝提供户外空间转型,打造出适应性的健康办公场所。这片曾经未开发的地域具备提升效率与激发动力的潜能。我们团队将这一户外园区成功转化为人才友好型的办公环境,将人与自然相联结,鼓励员工回归线下办公。

项目状态

完工

完工日期

2021

项目地点

San Jose

项目面积

3152 sqm

摄影师

Emily Hagopian

Outdoor space designed for PayPal by M Moser featuring an experiential garden, rest and work environment.

Looking beyond walls to advance the future of the workplace

PayPal Outdoor Spaces, San Jose

The definition of the workplace has changed. Habits have evolved, and doing great work is no longer limited to specific locations or within the bounds of enclosed spaces. To advance the future of its workplace, PayPal approached us to envision, repurpose and design a functionally robust and experiential outdoor space. The result is an environment where employees and guests can be productive, find inspiration and form social bonds.

The design solutions we deployed make the outdoor space an extension of the company’s workplace and a layer of its brand and mission. Our architecture, design and workplace strategy teams focused on PayPal’s commitments to its values of collaboration, innovation, inclusion and wellness. This meant creating unique and formative settings that support workflows, individual behaviours and positive impact on the natural world.

At a glance

  1. A forward-thinking and strategy-based approach to repurpose an existing outdoor space into a high-impact workplace experience.
  2. Design and build an outdoor environment that supports team collaboration, creativity, relaxation, and interpersonal relationships. Varying levels of privacy for individual focus time.
  3. A variety of spaces and settings that acknowledge and are inclusive of unique personal preferences, physical abilities, cognitive diversity and overall physical and mental wellbeing.
  4. Reactivate a unique outdoor setting to attract current and potential talent back to the office.
  5. Provide healthy landscapes in which employees benefit from fresh air, activity, elements of water, sounds of nature and access to natural light year-round.

A holistic perspective of the PayPal campus

The team took a phased approach to reactivate the outdoor campus and integrate it into the fabric of the workplace. They began with high-impact design interventions to immediately influence the employee experience. Responding to the need for more flexible settings, we addressed this at different scales to accommodate adaptive workplace needs and larger events. We analysed PayPal’s pre-existing layout, structures and user journey for repurposing and revitalisation to create a year-round destination.

Layering in company culture and character through a branded journey, the outdoor work campus at PayPal features many work settings and relaxation zones.

We reconfigured a sizeable circular seating feature into a multi-use collaboration and lounge setting. Centrally located, its surrounded by amenities, water features and beautiful garden installations. Our team also added operable windows and folding doors to create an indoor-outdoor experience.

To refresh a series of lawn areas, we introduced multiple freestanding meeting facilities. These are equipped with sun coverage and electrical for a bespoke, inspiring environment unique to each individual and their tasks.

The building façade at PayPal was redesigned to open and close to connect the indoors with the outdoors.
Sun and shade were all taken into account in our outdoor space design for PayPal, such as with beautiful wooden structures to enhance the outdoor work experience.

The new, expansive space balances local culture through materials while creating a unified, human-centric brand experience. We worked alongside a landscape architect to further develop our vision. This included leading studies on sun and shade orientation, user journey, and environmental conservation. The goal was to address function, aesthetics and comfort through elegant solutions.

Outdoor space where work, wellness and nature connect

To develop unique destinations and a holistic, engaging journey, the workplace experience now extends to the perimeter of the campus. It incorporates more profound concepts of wellness, sustainability and pre-existing natural elements. Additionally, our teams used local, recycled, and other eco-friendly materials, such as Alaska Yellow Cedar, to prioritise sustainability.

Alternative work areas outside by water features at PayPal’s outdoor campus.
Outdoor office campus design featuring multiple seating areas, shaded workspaces and water features.
Private or collaborative work points in the garden at PayPal’s outdoor office campus.

The overarching design connects the forms of nearby coastal wetlands. This provides consistent language, tying the series of outdoor spaces together. We established a natural hierarchy of areas that would remain untouched to support the health of trees, plants and flowers.

A repurposed outdoor space designed to connect employees to the outdoors throughout their workday.

From customised multi-function workspaces to entertainment lounges, pre-function break-out areas, and an outdoor café seating area. Each “high impact intervention” area is designed to support individual and group work in an outdoor environment, as well as entertaining and socialising.

The unique settings reframe the outdoor campus as a destination – rather than simply part of a linear journey to the desk indoors. They encourage people to reconnect with the natural world.

Customised outdoor workspaces design by M Moser.

Reshaping outdoor green space to energise employees

Outdoor spaces are more valuable than ever. As employees return to the office, there is a unique opportunity not only to create environments where employees feel safe to come together again. It’s time to embrace new workspace options that align with core company values and progress the definition of an office experience.

Our outdoor transformation for PayPal has redefined a healthy, adaptable workplace. Once an untapped source of productivity-enhancing, morale-boosting real estate. We converted this outdoor campus into a placemaking environment that celebrates talent, connects individuals with the outdoors and motivates a return to the office.

Status

Completed

Completion date

2021

Location

San Jose

Area

33,937 sq ft

Photographer

Emily Hagopian