L'Oreal, Seoul

神经认知美学对办公场所设计的影响

作为神经设计的一部分,神经认知美学是一个探索大脑如何处理艺术和美的新兴研究领域。它试图将神经科学、心理学和生物学理论结合起来,从而深入了解并影响我们在面对创意刺激时产生的感知和思维过程。

为鼓励员工重返办公室或改善员工身心健康、增强包容性和神经多样性等,各公司致力于提升员工的办公场所体验。由于设计与心理学之间关联紧密,这促使设计领域对神经认知美学有关研究的兴趣激增,而这些研究反过来又为个人及其组织提供了变革潜力。

LinkedIn, New York

感官设计与身心健康

感官设计理论探究了我们的触觉、视觉和嗅觉等感官是如何与环境互动的。通过在办公场所营造多种感官体验,我们可以放大其对员工的积极影响——即使只是离开办公桌休息片刻。

在《我们的塑造》(The Shaping of Us)一书中, Lily Bernheimer 指出,在自然环境中度过一段时间可以让我们变得更慷慨、富有同情心和乐于助人。她强调,日常空间的属性具有极大影响力,可以鼓励亲社会互动和积极情绪。

气味和声音也能改善员工的身心健康。这可能包括为图书馆或休息区引入平静的气味和声景,以营造平静感和放松感;或引入昼夜节律照明以模仿自然光线的变换。在设计中加入触觉元素不仅能增强办公场所的美感,还能使员工与周边环境建立更加深刻的联结。邀请人们触摸这些元素并与其互动,能刺激感官体验,进一步丰富他们与空间的互动。

Pinsent Masons, Amsterdam

颜色与认知表现

颜色对认知表现的影响已有充分研究。颜色能够唤起情绪、促进创造力并塑造行为。不同的颜色可以引发不同的心理和生理反应。通过全面理解这些效果并在办公场所中策略性地实施它们,我们可以设计出引发特定体验、支持神经多样性、改善情绪和提高生产力的办公空间。

蓝色已被证明可以促进注意力集中和思维清晰,因此在团队需要集中注意力的空间中融入蓝色会非常有益。这可能包括会议室、专注工作区,甚至是协作区。

Amsterdam living lab

另一方面,绿色在员工预计会长时间办公的区域特别有效。这是因为绿色具有镇静作用,能减轻焦虑和眼睛疲劳。在工作点附近、非正式休息区或专用健康空间中引入绿色(植物或办公桌隔板),有助于支持长时间的持续工作。

橙色等鲜艳明亮的颜色,可以策略性地用于促进创意和创新思考。然而,必须谨慎使用这些点缀,以防止它们过度影响环境和身处其中的人。适度使用它们可以产生最棒的效果,同时保持整体设计方案的和谐。

Amsterdam living lab library

另一个例子是红色,它已被证明可以提高血压和心率,从而提高食欲。这就是为什么那么多快餐连锁店在其空间中使用红色。

我们的设计师还缜密考虑了神经认知美学的研究背景、文化、影响和效果。

Miro dining
Nestle café space

通过接触自然降低皮质醇水平

几十年来,“环境心理学”研究持续展示了接触自然与减少压力之间的关联。将自然材料和绿色景观等自然元素融入室内设计,可以显著降低压力水平,增强认知功能和改善情绪。软木、原木或泥土色调等自然风格的饰面能带来一种自然而然的平静感。仿生设计,从自然和自然体系中汲取灵感,使用受自然启发的策略来改进设计。这不一定是有形的自然,也可以是反映自然模式以产生类似的镇静效果。

Pinsent Masons workstation
Pinsent Masons café area
Media company, Madrid

形式与功能

在神经认知美学设计中,我们可以重新思考“形式追随功能”理念。人类倾向于喜欢柔和的曲线而非锐角。研究表明,仅是看到曲线就会在我们的脑中引发舒缓感。应用曲线元素已被证明可以缓和情绪并带来愉悦感,而线性和锐角元素则会让人感到不适和紧张。

在创意区或高度协作区,尝试不对称设计以鼓励“颠覆”可能是有益的。然而,对称和平衡的环境设计总体上对人们有更积极的影响。

Miro campfire, Amsterdam

Associate Director, Raquel Machado 表示:“通过避免使用固定的物理障碍,我们为空间规划提供更多变通可能性,使用户能够打造不同的环境,以便摆脱常规的工作思维。”

身为设计师,我们有很多以美学或‘神经认知美学’为中心的工具。挖掘这些概念的潜力并打造出一个体现企业文化且具有包容性的办公环境,可以提高员工满意度和生产力,并最大程度地为身处其中的员工提供支持。

我们的办公空间策略规划室内设计团队会与您紧密合作,以满足不同空间的多样化需求。通过理解和应用神经认知美学理论,我们量身定制的办公环境不仅在视觉上令人愉悦,还能提升员工的身心健康和生产力。

作者
Ella Cain

Associate Designer

Raquel Machado

Associate Director

了解更多研究洞察

探索更多

L'Oreal, Seoul

Understanding the power of neuroaesthetics within workplace design

Neuroaesthetics is a growing field exploring how the brain processes art and beauty. It’s a part of neurodesign, which combines principles from neuroscience, psychology and biology to understand and influence how we respond to creative stimuli.

Businesses are focused on enhancing the workplace experience – from encouraging employees to return to the office to prioritising wellness, inclusivity and neurodiversity. Consequently, there has been a surge of interest in neuroaesthetic studies, underscoring the deep links between design and the principles of psychology. This research, in turn, provides transformative potential for individuals and their organisations.

LinkedIn, New York

Sensory design and wellbeing

The concept of sensory design explores how our senses, such as touch, sight, and smell, interact with our environment. By creating multi-sensory experiences in workplaces, we can amplify the positive impact on the people spending time there—even if it’s just during a break away from the desk.

In ‘The Shaping of Us’, Lily Bernheimer highlights how spending time in natural environments encourages us to be more generous, empathetic and helpful. She emphasises how the nature of our everyday spaces has great power to encourage pro-social interaction and positive emotions.

Scents and sounds can also support individual wellbeing. This might include layering in calming scents and soundscapes in a library or lounge to bring a sense of calmness and relaxation. Or introducing circadian lighting to mimic the natural rhythm of sunlight. Incorporating tactile finishes into a design enhances aesthetics and creates a deeper connection with our environment. Inviting people to touch and interact with these tactile elements stimulates sensory experiences that further enrich their interaction with a space.

Pinsent Masons, Amsterdam

Colour and cognitive performance

The influence of colour on cognitive performance is well-documented. Colour’s potency lies in its ability to evoke emotions, foster creativity and shape behaviours. Different colours can trigger distinct psychological and physiological responses in humans. By comprehensively understanding these effects and strategically implementing them in the workplace, we can craft spaces that elicit specific experiences, support neurodiversity and improve mood and productivity.

Blue has been proven to promote concentration and mental clarity, so incorporating it into spaces where teams must focus can be highly beneficial. This might include meeting rooms, heads-down work areas and even collaboration zones.

Amsterdam living lab

On the other hand, green is particularly effective in areas where employees are anticipated to spend long hours working. This is because green has a calming effect, reducing anxiety and eye strain. Incorporating green (from biophilia to desk dividers) near work points, within informal lounge settings, or dedicated wellness spaces can help support sustained productivity for extended periods.

Bright pops of colour, like orange, can be strategically employed to foster creativity and innovative thinking. However, it’s essential to use these accents sparingly and with careful consideration to prevent them from overpowering the environment and the people within it. Employing them in a controlled manner brings maximum impact while maintaining harmony within the overall design scheme.

Amsterdam living lab library

Another example is red, which has been shown to increase blood pressure and heart rate and, therefore, appetite. That’s why so many fast-food chains use it in their spaces.

Our designers also carefully consider the context, culture, impact and effects of neuroaesthetics.

Miro dining
Nestle café space

Reducing cortisol levels through exposure to nature

Supported by decades of ‘Environmental Psychology’, research consistently showcases the stress-reducing benefits associated with exposure to nature. Integrating biophilic elements into interior design, such as natural materials and views of greenery, can significantly lower stress levels, enhancing cognitive function and uplifting mood. Natural finishes such as cork, timber or earthy tones create an instinctive sense of calm. Biomimicry, which looks to nature and natural systems for inspiration, uses nature-inspired strategies for improving design. This doesn’t necessarily have to be physical nature but can reflect natural patterns for a similar calming effect.

Pinsent Masons workstation
Pinsent Masons café area
Media company, Madrid

Form vs. function

When designing for neuroaesthetics, we can rethink the concept of “form follows function.” Humans gravitate towards soft, curved shapes over sharp angles. Studies suggest that merely viewing an object’s curves triggers relief in our brains. Applying curves has been shown to impact how relaxed and happy people feel, whereas linear forms and angles can make people feel more uncomfortable and less relaxed.

Experimenting with asymmetrical designs to encourage ‘disruption’ may be helpful in areas such as innovation lounges or highly collaborative areas. However, symmetry and balance in environmental designs have been shown to have a more positive overall impact.

Miro campfire, Amsterdam

Raquel Machado, Associate Director, Design, adds: ‘By avoiding any hard physical barriers, we provide a sense of freedom and flexibility, enabling users to set up different environments as a way to get them out of their usual way of doing things.

As designers, we have plenty of tools at our fingertips that centre on the human experience of aesthetics, or ‘neuroaesthetics’. Unlocking the potential of these concepts can improve satisfaction and productivity while creating meaningful, inclusive environments that best support the people who inhabit them.

Our strategy and design teams collaborate closely with you to identify the desired behaviours for each space. By understanding and applying neuroaesthetics principles, we tailor environments that are not only visually appealing but also enhance well-being and productivity.

Authors
Ella Cain

Associate Designer

Raquel Machado

Associate Director

Sophie Foster

Associate, Workplace Strategy

Explore more ideas

Explore