为量化交易公司探索全新办公模式,营造协作氛围

Hudson River Trading,伦敦

Hudson River Trading(HRT)是一家量化交易公司,利用先进的数学技术研究开发自动交易算法。其业务遍布全球6个国家、200多个市场,旗下共有700多名员工。因此,我们为HRT设计伦敦的办公场所时,尤其注重团队协作的理念。

基于此前在新加坡的合作基础,如今我们又在欧洲搭起了桥梁。

项目一览

  1. 基于HRT的协作文化,打造“Tink Tank协作区”,便于员工分享灵感,激发新的交易方式。
  2. 为该社群的朋友和同事提供聚会的空间。
  3. 无纸化的施工现场,助力公司实现净零排放目标。
View of tea point in office design in London for HRT

传递HRT的企业文化

HRT拥有引以为傲的办公场所文化及办公方式,其核心是“思考、信任、匠心与交易”。因此,我们的目标是打造一片办公空间让员工可以聚在一起解决问题,分享灵思妙想。通过合理设置交易室的办公环境和会议室的数量,以更好地营造团队协作的氛围。

此外,办公空间也需要具备自己的特色。HRT伦敦分支的设计语言需要与公司其他的全球分支保持一致,同时也要反映出建筑本身以及当地环境的特点。

探索全新交易方式

我们打造了一套办公空间设计&建造方案,对传统的交易大厅重新设计。我们引入了新的办公方式,规划出一片专门的空间“Tink Tank协作区”来贯彻精益求精的工匠精神。这样做的目的是让员工摆脱办公桌的束缚,在不同的环境中解决问题,完善算法。

HRT的员工喜欢通过编辑修改来不断改进其交易算法。考虑到这一点,穆氏为办公空间添置了可移动家具,让人们可以通过搭配和改造来 “编辑” 空间,以适应不同的办公需求。

在一个开放的办公场所内,协作办公可能会分散注意力。因此,我们使用曲面墙壁和半透明窗帘来隔开“Tink Tank协作区”和主要办公区,以避免对附近的人员造成干扰。

View of boardroom in office design in London for HRT

新的办公空间不仅支持我们协作办公,也契合我们的企业文化。团结是HRT的核心价值,这片空间有助于我们实现这一点。

Emma Black, Design Project Manager (Real Estate), Hudson River Trading

办公空间设计理念

HRT的办公理念是让员工热爱自己的工作,因此我们在设计其伦敦办事处时,同样以人为本专注细节设计。步入这片办公空间的接待处,映入眼帘的是定制算法呈现出的艺术装置,品牌辨识度得以提高。而在整片空间的布局中,我们巧妙利用HRT的公司标识,使其角度与建筑的曲线并行。

置身空间内部,城市景观和圣保罗大教堂等地标建筑也能尽收眼底,这让空间充满了本土特色。空间的整体设计具有流动性,顶部显眼的照明系统也大大方便了员工从办公桌到目的地的流动。

View of open plan in office design in London for HRT

为团结协作而设计

我们深知,编码员和交易员喜欢安静的办公空间。因此,具有社交性质的餐饮区选址远离开放式的办公空间。这片区域有助于员工建立联系,他们工作之余可以在这里打台球,或者在休憩区观看体育赛事。

空间内的家具布置方案提供了充足的座位,让员工可以在这里享用厨师准备的每日早餐和午餐。此外,多用途家具也便于员工和访客接触交流,洽谈工作。

这片社交空间也可用于举办活动。我们设计了一个巨大的岛式平台,可以直接通向私人露台。举办活动的时候,这个平台会成为焦点,自然而然地吸引人们前来。私人露台则配备良好的WiFi和震撼的音响系统,成为了室内特殊活动的延伸空间。

 

净零排放目标

这片办公空间位于利物浦街100号,其所在建筑获得了BREEAM Outstanding的评级,也是一个净零碳排放区。因此,我们必须确保我们的供应链符合该建筑的具体运作准则。例如,运送的车辆必须通过“车队操作员认证方案”(FORS)的银级认证

我们也重新设计了所有的机电工程,保障办公空间未来继续发挥性能。例如,我们设计了一个子电路电气监测系统来监测不同设备的能源使用情况,如服务器机房和机械系统。HRT可以通过这些数据评估每个传感器的有效能量值,直观地看到主电路、组电路和分支电路的能量消耗,甚至可以比较不同的系统。总而言之,这一设计可以改善能量消耗的状况。

View of cafe seating in office design in London for HRT

施工阶段的可持续性

负责该项目的客户对接人在HRT的纽约总部办公,因此技术是确保施工阶段效率的关键。我们运用了虚拟空间捕捉技术来与客户分享建设进度,每隔几天就进行一次扫描及交流。这样一来,客户无需在施工期间两地往来,节省了时间和碳排放。

此外,为了实施伦敦团队的净零排放路线图,施工现场做到了完全无纸化。数字化可以杜绝浪费现象,我们可以更新数字化图纸,并与许多人共享,无需回收旧图再重新打印新图。它还提高了我们的办公效率,我们可以在施工现场即时获取最新的文件。

项目状态

完工

完工日期

2022

项目地点

伦敦

项目面积

1895 sqm

摄影师

Chris Wharton

和我们聊聊您的办公空间?

联络我们

Views of reception for this office design in London for HRT

Exploring new ways of trading and collaborating

Hudson River Trading, London

Hudson River Trading (HRT) is a quantitative trading firm working across more than 200 markets worldwide. Together, its 700+ staff across six countries research and develop automated trading algorithms using advanced mathematical techniques. So, for HRT’s office design in London, we created a workplace that focuses on togetherness and collaboration.

In addition, the project begins new relationship with M Moser Europe, having previously worked together in Singapore.

At a glance

  1. Introducing a 'Tink[er] Tank' based on HRT's collaborative approach to share the best ideas and inspire new ways of trading.
  2. Spaces for its community of friends and colleagues to come together.
  3. An entirely paperless site set-up developed as part of our roadmap to net-zero.
View of tea point in office design in London for HRT

Understanding Hudson River Trading

HRT is proud of its workplace culture and way of working, which focuses on Think, Trust, Tinker & Trade. Therefore, our goal was to create an office space that allows its people to come together, solve problems and share their best ideas. It was also crucial to balance the trading desk environments with meeting spaces for collaborative working.

Furthermore, the workspace needed to have its own identity. The brief for HRT’s office in London was to create a design language consistent with its other global offices, while responding to the building and the local area.

Exploring new ways of trading

Our office design and build solution reimagines the traditional trading floor. Specifically, the ‘Tink Tank’, a dedicated space to ‘tinker’, introduces new ways to work. The idea is to get people to break away from the banks of desks and problem-solve in a different setting.

HRT’s people like to edit to improve its trading algorithms continually. With this in mind, moveable furniture lets people physically ‘edit’ the space by remodeling it to suit the different needs of those using it.

Collaboration can be distracting within an open plan office. So, we divided the Tink Tank from the main workspace by using curved walls and semi-transparent curtains to avoid causing a disturbance to those working nearby.

View of boardroom in office design in London for HRT

Our new office space supports our collaborative work and culture. Togetherness is a core value at HRT and this space helps us achieve that.

Emma Black, Design Project Manager (Real Estate), Hudson River Trading

The office design concept

Hudson River Trading’s brand is all about people who love what they do. So, for its office design in London, we kept branding subtle and focused on designing for people. Bespoke algorithm-inspired artwork creates brand recognition as you enter into reception. Throughout the office layout, we used the angles of HRT’s logo to juxtapose the curves of the building.

Maintaining the City views and sight lines to landmarks, such as St Paul’s Cathedral, helps to localise the design. The space has a fluidity to it, and statement lighting overhead helps people to flow from desk to destination.

View of open plan in office design in London for HRT

Designed for togetherness

We know coders and traders prefer quiet spaces to work. Therefore, the social café area is designed away from the open plan. The space offers opportunities to connect. For instance, staff can unwind on the pool table or watch sports in the lounge area after work.

Furniture solutions within this space provide enough seating to come together to enjoy daily chef-prepared breakfasts and lunches. In addition, the multi-use furniture also allows staff and visiting guests to touch down and work.

The community space doubles up for events, too. We designed the sizeable bespoke island with direct access to a private terrace. The island is a focal point for hosting events, naturally drawing people to it. With good WiFi and a great sound system, the private terrace is an extension of the interior for special occasions.

Net zero considerations

The office sits within the BREEAM ‘Outstanding’ building, 100 Liverpool Street. As a net zero carbon development, we had to ensure our supply chain met the specific guidelines for working in the building. Such as FORS Silver-accreditation registered vehicle deliveries.

We designed all MEP engineering services from scratch, safeguarding the workplace’s future performance. For example, a sub-circuit electrical monitoring system monitors the energy usage of different equipment – such as the comms room and mechanical systems. From this data, HRT can evaluate active energy values for each sensor, visualise energy consumptions of Mains, Groups and Branches, and even compare between systems. All in all, leading to improved energy consumption.

View of cafe seating in office design in London for HRT

Sustainability in construction

The London project stakeholders work in HRT’s New York City HQ. So, technology was a crucial part of ensuring efficiency during the construction phase. For example, we used virtual space capture to share the build progress with the client. Scans were taken and communicated every couple of days. As a result, the client didn’t need to travel during the build, saving time and emissions.

Additionally, as part of the London team’s roadmap to net zero, the site set-up was entirely paperless. Going digital eliminates waste. For instance, we can update drawings and share them with many people without the need to recycle the old and reprint the new ones. It also increases business efficiency, with instant access to the latest documents on-site.

Status

Completed

Completion date

2022

Location

London

Area

20,400 sq ft

Photographer

Chris Wharton

Discuss your workplace

Contact